SIN COS TAN Announce Second Album Afterlife

SIN COS TAN liveSIN COS TAN have announced details of the follow-up to their impressive debut ‘Sin Cos Tan’ issued in Autumn of last year. Entitled ‘Afterlife’, the new album will be released by Solina Records on 11th October 2013 and preceded by a single on 13th September.

The duo of Juho Paalosmaa and Jori Hulkkonen are two highly regarded figures in the Finnish music scene. Paalosmaa is the singer / songwriter from VILLA NAH who released the acclaimed ‘Origin’ back in 2010.

Meanwhile Hulkkonen is the ace producer who has worked with VILLA NAH, TIGA and JOHN FOXX as well as remixing and releasing a variety of material under various guises such as STOP MODERNISTS and PROCESSORY. Indeed, the ever busy Hulkkonen releases a new 4 track EP with JOHN FOXX in mid-August called ‘European Splendour’.

This second SIN COS TAN album comes less than a year after the debut. “We soon discovered that recording material together was very effortless – in just a few days we squeezed out 15-20 tracks” said Paalosmaa in an interview with The Electricity Club. Certainly if ‘Afterlife’ repeats the dreamy quality of songs such as ‘History’ from its predecessor, then it will be a contender for one of 2013’s albums of the year.

Incidentally, ‘History’ has been given a Gennadyevna remix by Kris Wadsworth on the recently released ‘Remixes’ EP. Also included is another of the album’s key tracks ‘Trust’ which comes in a wonderful extended dance mix. Like a 21st Century answer to ‘Enjoy The Silence’, Hulkkonen has described ‘Trust’ as “Disco You Can Cry To”.

Functionally, SIN COS TAN are a classic pop pairing with Paalosmaa all intense and committed while Hulkkonen is more laid back and unassuming. Their contrasts compliment each other perfectly as “a synthesized duo of great promise, broken dreams, and long nights”.

SIN COS TAN remixesSIN COS TAN ‘Remixes’ is released as a download EP by My Favorite Robot Records and available from Beatport

‘Sin Cos Tan’ is available on CD, vinyl and download via Solina Records in Europe and Sugarcane Records for the rest of the world.

‘Afterlife’ will be released on 11th October 2013 by Solina Records

2013 Summer live dates include:
The Garden Festival, Tisno, Croatia 5th July), Ruisrock Festival, Turku, Finland (7th July), Modern festival, Turku, Finland (18th to 21st July – date to be confirmed), Helsingin Juhlaviikot, Reddress, Finland (16th August)

Text by Chi Ming Lai
3rd July 2013