CLIENT Release New Album Authority

CLIENT AuthorityCLIENT are finally back with a new album ‘Authority’, the first with a new singer Client N. Their German label Out Of Line Records has described the long player as “an addictive powerhouse of minimal electronics, groovy rhythms and mercilessly catchy melodies”. Certainly if the single ‘Refuge’ is anything to go by, the Cold War electro chic of CLIENT’s previous four critically acclaimed albums has been retained under the synthesizer helm of founder member Client A aka Kate Holmes.

Meanwhile while Client N provides a vocal tone reminiscent of MARNIE with the end result almost like LADYTRON fronting NEW ORDER. The ‘Refuge’ video has been stylishly directed by Carlos Roberti and once again, the YouTube comments section is comedy gold with one observer clearly not getting CLIENT’s aesthetic standpoint by saying: “Really, really good song. But why the f**k is one of them just sitting there and just doing nothing?”

CLIENT 2.0 was launched last Autumn with the dynamic ‘You Can Dance’, a song reflecting on the alcohol and chemical reliance associated with the clubland. In this system reboot, ‘You Can Dance’ sounded not unlike ABBA’s Frida if she had worked with Robert Görl instead of Phil Collins. Produced by David Francolini, both songs possess a hard edged but dance friendly pop template. Meanwhile, the artwork of ‘Authority’ by User ID elegantly but powerfully depicts the duo as scheming Mafia widows.

CLIENT Authority2

With figures as diverse as Karl Bartos, Martin Gore, Carl Barât and Peter Doherty among their fans, ‘Authority’ is the welcome return of CLIENT who, along with LADYTRON, were among the first of the 21st Century female fronted electronic acts and paved the way for many of the women using synthesizers today such as MARSHEAUX.

The tracklisting for ‘Authority’ is:

01 Authority
02 Design
03 XXX Action
04 You Can Dance
05 The Shining Path
06 Refuge
07 After Effect
08 Faith
09 Artificial
10 Obsession
11 Quarantine
12 Nocturnal Eyes

‘Authority’ is released as a CD and download in the UK on 14th April 2014, but is available now via Out Of Line Records at

Text by Chi Ming Lai
Photos by Fabrice Lachant
22nd March 2014